Canoe Kayak South Carolina -- First Edition
Canoe Kayak South Carolina

Book Links

 

The following links (URLs) appear in Canoe Kayak South Carolina. Links are subject to change. They are periodically checked, and any changes required are made to these clickable links.

 

Page viii (Introduction)
Canoe Kayak South Carolina http://canoekayaksc.com

Page 7 (Paddling Safety)
American Whitewater safety code http://www.americanwhitewater.org

Page 14 (River Rating Systems)
American Whitewater safety code http://www.americanwhitewater.org

Page 20 (River Camping)
SC DNR Public Lands http://dnr.sc.gov/mlands/specregs.html

Page 23 (USGS Internet Data)
USGS Water Data http://water.usgs.gov/nwis

Page 23 (Tide)
Tide Tables http://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/tide_predictions.html

Page 25 (Water Quality)
Stream Classification http://www.scdhec.gov/environment/water/regs/R.61-69.pdf

Page 26 (Water Quality)
Impaired Waters http://www.scdhec.gov/HomeAndEnvironment/Water/ImpairedWaters/Overview/

Assessmant Reports http://www.scdhec.gov/HomeAndEnvironment/Water/Watersheds/WatershedMap/

Page 27 (Water Quality)
SC DHEC Regional Offices http://www.scdhec.gov/environment/behs/regions.htm

Page 58 (Edisto River)
Carolina Heritage Outfitters http://canoesc.com

Page 65 (Edisto River)
ACE Basin NWR Headquarters http://www.fws.gov/southeast/pubs/facts/abscon.pdf

Page 70 (Four Hole Swamp)
Francis Beidler Forest http://beidlerforest.audubon.org

Page 99 (Black River)
Report swallow-tailed kite sightings http://thecenterforbirdsofprey.org

Page 151 (Lynches River)
Lynches River County Park http://lynchesriverpark.com

Page 153 (Lynches River)
RiverRat's Canoe Rentals http://riverratscanoerentals.com

Page 156 (Lynches River)
Ancient Cypress http://www.ancientcypress.com

Page 191 (Broad River)
Harbison State Forest http://www.state.sc.us/forest/refharb.htm

Palmetto Trail http://www.palmettoconservation.org/aboutthetrail.asp

Page 192 (Broad River)
Updates http://canoekayaksc.com

Page 193 (Broad River)
Three Rivers Greenway http://riveralliance.org/project/three-rivers-greenway/l

Page 200 (Catawba River)
Catawba Riverkeeper http://catawbariverkeeper.org

Page 201 (Catawba River)
Scheduled Releases http://www.duke-energy.com/lakes/scheduled-flow-releases.asp
Downstream Flows http://www.duke-energy.com/lakes/downstream-flow-releases.asp
Recreational Release Schedule http://www.duke-energy.com/pdfs/comp_relicensing_agreement.pdf

Page 202 (Catawba River)
Landsford Canal State Park http://southcarolinaparks.com/landsfordcanal/introduction.aspx

Page 204 (Catawba River)
Lily Fest http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/things-to-do/wildflowers/lily-fest/default.aspx

Page 208 (Cedar Creek)
Congaree National Park camping http://www.nps.gov/cong/parkmgmt/LawsAndPolicies.htm

Page 233 (Saluda River)
Saluda River Yacht Club http://www.saludariveryachtclub.com

Page 242 (Saluda River)
Planned water releases http://sceg.com/en/our-community/outdoor-recreation/lower-saluda-river

Page 259 (Santee River)
Hopsewee Plantation http://www.hopsewee.com

Page 276 (Tyger River)
Rosehill Plantation State Historic Site http://www.southcarolinaparks.com/rosehill

Page 317 (Savannah River)
Savannah Riverkeeper http://www.savannahriverkeeper.org
Release schedule http://water.sas.usace.army.mil/declarations.cfm

Page 349 (Savannah River)
USGS gauges in GA http://waterdata.usgs.gov/ga/nwis/current/?type=flow
USGS gauges in NC http://waterdata.usgs.gov/nc/nwis/current/?type=flow
USGS gauges in SC http://waterdata.usgs.gov/sc/nwis/current/?type=flow

Page 354 (Bibliography)
Free eBooks Project Gutenburg http://www.gutenberg.org

Page 355 (Map Sources)
SC state and county maps http://www.scdot.org/getting/mapinfo.aspx
NC state and county maps http://ncdot.gov/travel/statemapping
GA state and county maps http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/DOTmaps/DOTmaplist.htm
Topo maps http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/
Google Earth http://www.google.com/earth/

Page 357 (Paddling Clubs)
Carolina Canoe Club http://carolinacanoeclub.org
Catawba Cruisers Paddling Club http://www.meetup.com/Catawba-Cruisers
CSRA Kayaking & Camping Club http://www.csrakayakingclub.com
Foothills Paddling Club http://groups.yahoo.com/group/foothillspaddlingclub
Long Bay Paddlers http://longbaypaddlers.com
Low Country Paddlers http://lowcountrypaddlers.net
Palmetto Paddlers http://palmettopaddlers.org
Saluda Yakerz http://saludayakerz.com
Swamp Fox Paddlers http://www.meetup.com/Swamp-Fox-Paddlers

Page 357 (National River Conservation Organizations)

American Canoe Association http://www.americancanoe.org
American Whitewater http://www.americanwhitewater.org
American Rivers http://www.americanrivers.org
Center for Watershed Protection http://cwp.org
River Network http://www.rivernetwork.org

Page 358 (Government Agencies and Programs)
Environmental Protection Agency http://epa.gov
Fish and Wildlife Service http://www.fws.gov/southeast/maps/sc.html
Natural Resources Conservation Service http://www.nrcs.usda.gov
SC Department of Natural Resources http://dnr.sc.gov
SC Parks http://www.southcarolinaparks.com
SC Scenic Rivers Program http://www.dnr.sc.gov/water/river/overview.html
Little Pee Dee Trail Guide http://dnr.sc.gov/water/river/pdf/LittlePeeDeeTrailGuide.pdf
Lynches River Trail Guide http://www.dnr.sc.gov/water/river/scenic/lynchespub.html

Page 358 (National and Statewide Groups)
Coastal Conservation League http://coastalconservationleague.org
SC Wildlife Federation http://www.scwf.org
Sierra Club http://www.sierraclub.org/south-carolina
Southern Environmental Law Center http://www.southernenvironment.org
The Nature Conservancy http://www.nature.org

Page 358 (ACE Basin Groups)
ACE Basin National Estuarine Research http://dnr.sc.gov/marine/NERR
Friends of the Edisto http://edistofriends.org

Page 358 (Pee Dee Basin Groups)
Pee Dee Land Trust http://peedeelandtrust.org
Winyah Rivers Foundation http://winyahrivers.org

Page 359 (Sanree Basin Groups)
Catawba Riverkeeper http://catawbariverkeeper.org
Congaree Land Trust http://www.congareelt.org
Congaree Riverkeeper http://congareeriverkeeper.org
Save Our Saluda http://www.saveoursaluda.org
The Rivers Alliance http://riveralliance.org
The Tyger River Foundation http://www.tygerriver.org

Page 359 (Savannah Basin Groups)
Chattooga Conservancy http://chattoogariver.org
Savannah Riverkeeper http://savannahriverkeeper.org

 

Paddling Eastern North Carolina
Home

 

ocosin
Press
P