Paddling Eastern North Carolina -- First Edition
Paddling Eastern North Carolina
Second Edition

Book Links


Page X (Introduction)
Paddling Eastern North Carolina http://PaddlingEasternNC.com/

Page 8 (Paddling Safety)
American Whitewater safety code http://www.american whitewater.org/

Page 15 (River Rating Systems)
American Whitewater safety code http://www.american whitewater.org/

Page 24 (River Gauges)
USGS water data http://water.usgs.gov/
Tides http://www.saltwatertides.com/
Tides http://www.freetidetables.com/

Page 25 (Water Quality)
Stream Classification http://h2o.enr.state.nc.us/csu/

Page 26 (Water Quality)
Impaired Waters http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/ws/su/impaired-waters-map
Basinwide Water Quality Plans http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/wq/ps/bpu/basin

Page 27 (Water Quality)
Stream Watch
http://www.ncwater.org/Education_and_Technical_Assistance/Stream_Watch/
Water Quality regional offices http://www.enr.state.nc.us/files/regnoffs.htm
Sedimentation pollution http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/lr/erosion

Page 53 (Cape Fear River)
Raven Rock State Park http://www.ncparks.gov
Cape Fear RV and Canoe Center - no longer in business

Page 59 (Cape Fear River)
H to H Campground http://www.htohcampground.com/

Page 93 (Haw River)
Haw River Canoe & Kayak Company http://www.hawrivercanoe.com/

Page 94 (Haw River)
Saxapahaw Rivermill http://www.rivermillvillage.com/

Page 111 (Lower Little River)
Fort Bragg map http://www.bragg.army.mil/directorates/dpw/envdiv/wildlife/Pages/Home.aspx

Page 181 (Merchants Millpond)
Merchants Millpond
http://www.ncparks.gov

Page 181 (Pembroke Creek)
Edenton National Fish Hatchery http://www.fws.gov/edenton/

Page 215 (Lumber River)
River Bend Outfitters - no longer in business

Page 233 (Brice Creek)
Creekside Park http://www.cravencounty.com/parks/creekside.cfm

Page 255 (Eno River)
Frog Hollow http://www.froghollowoutdoors.com/

Page 268 (Hannah/Mill Creeks)
Howell Woods Environmental Learning Center http://www.johnstoncc.edu/howellwoods/

Page 286 (Neuse River)
Paddle Creek http://www.paddlecreeknc.com/

Page 295 (Neuse River)
Neuseway Nature Park and Campground http://www.neusewaypark.com/

Page 308 (Trent/Neuse River)
Evening Breeze Outfitters - no longer in business

Page 321 (Dismal Swamp Canal)
Dismal Swamp Canal Visitor Center http://www.dismalswampwelcomecenter.com/

Page 322 (Dismal Swamp Canal)
Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge http://www.fws.gov/northeast/greatdismalswamp/

Page 325 (Hidden Lake)
Palmetto-Peartree Preserve http://www.palmettopeartree.org/

Page 336 (Millltail Creek)
Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge http://www.fws.gov/alligatorriver/

Page 344 (Scuppernong River)
Pettigrew State Park http://www.ncparks.gov

Page 348 (Whipping Creek)
Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge http://www.fws.gov/alligatorriver/

Page 354 (Big Creek)
Paddling Eastern North Carolina http://PaddlingEasternNC.com

Page 372 (Dan River)
Camp Sertoma
http://mooresspringscampground.blogspot.com/
Hanging Rock Outdoor Center http://www.hroconline.com/

Page 374 (Dan River)
Dan River Company http://www.danrivercompany.com/

Page 376 (Dan River)
Dan River Campground http://www.danrivercamping.com/
Eagle Falls Outfitters http://www.eagle-falls-outfitters.com/

Page 377 (Dan River)
Three Rivers Outfitters http://www.3-r-o.com/

Page 378 (Dan River)
Paddling Eastern North Carolina http://PaddlingEasternNC.com

Page 382 (Dan River)
John H. Kerr Reservoir http://epec.saw.usace.army.mil/roankerr.htm

Page 399 (Roanoke River)
Dominion release schedule
http://www.dom.com/about/stations/hydro/roanoke-rapids/projected-flow-releases.jsp

Page 399 (Roanoke River)
Planned release schedule
http://www.dom.com/about/stations/hydro/roanoke-river-whitewater.jsp

Page 404 (Roanoke River)
Fort Branch http://www.fortbranchcivilwarsite.com/

Page 413 (Smith River)
Three Rivers Outfitters http://www.3-r-o.com/

Page 468 (Tranters Creek)
Tranters Creek Resort and Campground http://www.tranterscreekresort.com/

Page 472 (Bear Island)
Hammocks Beach State Park http://www.ncparks.gov

Page 491 (White Oak River)
White Oak River Campground http://whiteoakrivercampground.com/

Page 494 (White Oak River)
White Oak Shores Camping & RV Resort http://www.whiteoakshores.com/

Page 516 (Little River)
Town Creek Indian Mound http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/sections/hs/town/town.htm
Blewett Falls Lake http://www.progress-energy.com/aboutenergy/powerplants/hydro/lakelevels.asp

Page 548 (Uwharrie River)
Lake Tillery http://www.progress-energy.com/aboutenergy/powerplants/hydro/graphs.asp

Page 553 (Yadkin River)
W. Kerr Scott Reservoir camping http://www.reserveusa.com/nrrs/nc/wari/

Page 568 (Appendix A)
State Water Trails program http://www.ncsu.edu/paddletrails/
North Carolina Paddle Trails Association http://www.ncpaddletrails.info/

Page 569 (Appendix B)
Roanoke River Partners http://www.roanokeriverpartners.org/
Camping Platforms http://www.roanokeriverpartners.org/RiverCamping.htm

Page 579 (Appendix D)
County maps http://www.ncdot.org/it/gis/DataDistribution/
Topographic maps http://www.usgs.gov/
Topographic CDs http://www.geology.enr.state.nc.us/maps/drg.html
Online topo and aerial maps http://www.terraserver.com/

Page 580 (Appendix D)
Google Earth http://earth.google.com/

Page 581 (Appendix E)
Black River Paddler http://groups.yahoo.com/group/blackriverpaddler/
Cape Fear Paddlers Association http://capefearpaddlers.org/
Carolina Canoe Club http://carolinacanoeclub.org/
Crystal Coast Outing Club http://ccckc.org
Lumber River Canoe Club http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lumberrivercanoeclub/
Mecklenburg Regional Paddlers http://www.mrponline.org/
OBX Paddlers Club (was Outer Banks Paddlers Club) http://www.obxpaddlers.org/
Smith River Valley Canoe Club http://groups.yahoo.com/group/srvcc/
Tarheel Paddlers Association http://groups.yahoo.com/group/tarheelpaddlersassociation/
Triad River Runners http://www.trronline.org/
Twin Rivers Paddle Club http://www.twinriverspaddleclub.org/

Page 582 (Appendix E)
American Canoe Association http://www.acanet.org/
American Whitewater http://www.americanwhitewater.org/
American Rivers http://www.americanrivers.org/
Center for Watershed Protection http://www.cwp.org/
River Network http://www.rivernetwork.org/
Environmental Protection Agency http://epa.gov
Fish and Wildlife Service http://southeast.fws.gov/maps/nc.html
Natural Resources Conservation Service http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/
North Carolina Division of Parks and Recreation http://www.ncparks.gov
North Carolina National Estuarine Research Reserve http://www.nccoastalreserve.net/
North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission http://www.enr.state.nc.us/dswc/
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission http://www.ncwildlife.org/
Stream Watch http://www.ncwater.org/Education_and_Technical_Assistance/Stream_Watch/
Clean Water For North Carolina http://www.cwfnc.org/
Clean Water Management Trust Fund http://cwmtf.net/
Conservation Council of North Carolina http://www.conservationcouncilnc.org/

Page 583 (Appendix E)
Conservation Trust for North Carolina http://www.ctnc.org/
Nature Conservancy http://www.nature.org/northcarolina/
North Carolina Big Sweep http://ncbigsweep.org/
North Carolina Coastal Federation http://nccoast.org/
North Carolina Environmental Defense Fund http://edf.org/
North Carolina Paddle Trails Association http://www.ncpaddletrails.info/
North Carolina Wildlife Federation http://ncwf.org/
Sierra Club http://nc.sierraclub.org/
Southern Environmental Law Center http://southernenvironment.org/
Trout Unlimited http://www.tu.org/
Albemarle Environmental Association - current Web address unknown
North Carolina Coastal Land Trust http://coastallandtrust.org/
Partnership for the Sounds http://albemarle-nc.com/pfs/
Piedmont Land Conservancy http://piedmontland.org/
Triangle Greenways Council http://trianglegreenways.org/
Triangle Land Conservancy http://www.tlc-nc.org/

Page 584 (Appendix E)
Cape Fear River Assembly http://www.cfra-nc.org/
Cape Fear River Watch http://www.cfrw.us/
Lower Cape Fear River Program http://www.uncw.edu/cmsr/aquaticecology/laboratory/LCFRP/index.htm/

Deep River Coalition - current Web address unknown
Friends of Sampson Co. Waterways http://sampsoncountywaterways.org/
Haw River Assembly http://hawriver.org/
Middle Cape Fear River Basin Association http://www.cfra-nc.org/mcfrba.htm
New Hope Creek Corridor Advisory Committee http://www.rtpnet.org/newhope/
Sandhills Area Land Trust http://www.sandhillslandtrust.org
Upper Cape Fear River Basin Association http://www.cfra-nc.org/ucfrba.htm
Winyah Rivers Foundation http://www.winyahrivers.org/
Ellerbe Creek Watershed Association http://ellerbecreek.org/

Page 585 (Appendix E)
Eno River Association http://enoriver.org/
Neuse River Foundation http://neuseriver.org
The Umstead Coalition http://umsteadcoalition.org/
Dan River Basin Association
http://danriver.org/
Roanoke River Basin Association http://rrba.org/
Roanoke River Partners http://www.roanokeriverpartners.org/
Pamlico-Tar River Foundation http://www.ptrf.org/
Tar River Land Conservancy http://www.tarriver.org
White Oak-New River Alliance (New River Foundation)
http://www.newriverfoundation.googlepages.com/

Izaak Walton League http://iwla.org/
Stewards of the White Oak Basin http://www.whiteoakstewards.org/
Yadkin-Pee Dee Lakes Project http://lakesproject.org/

Page 586 (Appendix E)
Land Trust for Central North Carolina http://landtrustcnc.org/
Yadkin River Trail Association http://yadkinrivertrail.org/

Methuselah

Paddling Eastern North Carolina
Home

 

ocosin
Press
P